Zamfara State is a state in Northwestern Nigeria and its capital is Gusau. Until 1996 the state was part of Sokoto State. Zamfara is bounded by Sokoto State on the North, Niger and Kaduna States on the South, Kebbi State on the West, and Katsina State on the East. The occupation of the people of the state is primarily farming, hence, the State slogan- “Farming is our Pride”



Zamfara State Snapshot

  • Total land area: 37,931 Sq. Km
  • Capital: Gusau

Local Government Areas: 14 LGAs: Zurmi, Maradun, Talata Mafara, Gusau, Kaura Namoda, Bungudu, Chafe, Maru, Anka, Bukkuyum, Gummi, Bakura, Birin Magaji/Kiyaw and Shinkafi.

  • Population: 3,278,873 (Male- 1,641,623 and Female- 1,637,250)
  • Vegetation: Sudan and Northern Guinea Savannah
  • Major crops: Millet, Guinea corn, Maize, Rice, Groundnut, Cotton, Tobacco, and Beans
  • Solid minerals: Gold, Iron-Ore, Copper, Tantalite, Manganese


Main Investment Opportunities

Opportunities for investment exist in:

  • Agribusiness
  • Light Manufacturing
  • Healthcare
  • Tourism
  • Energy
  • Mining