Taraba State was created on August 27th, 1991 out of the defunct Gongola State. Aptly christened ‘Nature’s Gift to the Nation’. The state derives its name from River Taraba and lies in the Northeast geopolitical region of Nigeria; Taraba State shares common boundaries with Bauchi and Gombe State to the North, Adamawa State to the Northeast, Plateau State to the West and Benue state to the Southwest and Eastern part of the State. It also shares International Boundaries with the Republic of Cameroun to the Southern and Eastern parts of the state.



Taraba State Snapshot

  • Total land area: 56,282 Sq. Km
  • Local Government Areas: 16 LGAs: Ardo Kola, Bali, Donga, Gashaka, Gassol, Ibi, Jalingo, Karim Lamido, Kurmi, Lau, Sardauna, Takum, Ussa, Wukari, Yorro, and Zing.
  • Population: 2,294,800 (Male- 1,171,931 and Female- 1,122,869)
  • Vegetation: Low forest and grassland
  • Major crops: Millet, Sorghum, Maize, Cassava, Yam, Rice, Groundnut, and Cotton.
  • Solid minerals: Baryte, Diamond, Talc


Main Investment Opportunities

Opportunities for investment exist in:

  • Agribusiness
  • Light Manufacturing
  • Healthcare
  • Tourism
  • Energy
  • Mining