Administrative map of Nigeria

Government typeFederal Republic
ConstitutionAdopted 5 May 1999; effective 29 May 1999
Legal systemMixed legal system of English Common Law, Islamic Sharia Law (operational in only 12 Northern, predominantly Muslim States), and traditional law
Administrative Division36 States (see map above) and 1 Capital (Abuja)
Executive branch·          President: Muhammadu Buhari (Since 29 May 2015)
·          Vice President: Yemi Osinbajo (Since 29 May 2015)
Head of Government·          President: Muhammadu Buhari (Since 29 May 2015)
·          Vice President: Yemi Osinbajo (Since 29 May 2015)
CabinetFederal Executive Council
Legislative branchBicameral National Assembly consists of the
·          Senate (109 seats, 3 from each state plus 1 from Abuja; members elected by popular vote to serve four-year terms);
·          House of Representatives (360 seats; members elected by popular vote to serve four-year terms)
Judicial branch·          Supreme Court (judges recommended by the National Judicial Council and appointed by the President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria);
·          Federal Court of Appeal (judges are appointed by the federal government from a pool of judges recommended by the National Judicial Council)
Political partiesThirty (30) registered political parties but the major three (3) are:
·          All Progressive Congress, APC (Ruling party)
·          Peoples Democratic Party, PDP (Main opposition)
·          All Progressive Grand Alliance, APGA
ElectionsPresident elected by popular vote for a four-year term (eligible only for two terms)
Central BankCentral Bank of Nigeria headed by the governor, Mr. Godwin Emefiele


Nigeria Vision 20: 2020

“By 2020, Nigeria will be one of the 20 largest economies in the world, able to consolidate its leadership role in Africa and establish itself as a significant player in the global economic and political arena.”

– Nigeria Vision 20:2020

The government of Nigeria declared its intention to pursue a vision of placing Nigeria among the 20 largest economies in the world by 2020. This vision is encapsulated in a document titled, Nigeria Vision 20:2020. This economic transformation blueprint is a long term plan for stimulating Nigeria’s economic growth and launching the country onto a path of sustained and rapid socio-economic development. The blueprint articulates Nigeria’s economic growth and development strategies for the period 2009-2020, and will be implemented using a series of medium term national development plan.

For more information, visit:



National Industrial Revolution Plan

The underlying philosophy of the National Industrial Revolution Plan (NIRP) is to build Nigeria’s competitive advantage, to broaden the scope of industry, and to accelerate expansion of the manufacturing sector. The plan presents a comprehensive industrial plan to diversify the economy, achieve inclusive growth and reduce poverty. It is designed to accelerate growth in those industries where Nigeria has comparative and competitive advantages such as the processing of food and agricultural products, metals and solid minerals processing, oil and gas related industries, and construction, light manufacturing and services.  It will address age-old constraints that have persistently limited manufacturing. It will build-up industrial infrastructure, prioritize power for industrial use, reduce borrowing costs and mobilize funding for the real sector. It will also facilitate youth training in industrial skills, improve our investment climate, raise our product standards, link innovation to industry, and promote local patronage of ‘made in Nigeria goods.

To see more, visit: