Plateau State was created in 1976 from the old Benue-Plateau State. In 1996, Plateau State was further subdivided to create Nasarawa State, which was carved out of the western half of Plateau State by Sani Abacha’s military regime. Adjacent states: Bauchi State to the Northeast, Kaduna to the Northwest, Nasarawa State to the South West, and Taraba State to the South East border the state. The state is named after the picturesque Jos Plateau, a mountainous area in the north of the state with captivating rock formations.



Plateau State Snapshot

  • Total land area: 27,147 Sq. Km
  • Capital: Jos
  • Local Government Areas: 17 LGAs: Jos North, Jos South, Jos East, Bassa, Kanam, Barakin Ladi, Quai’an-Pam, Wase, Langtang North, Langtang South, Pankshin, Shendam, Riyom, Mikang, Kanke, Mangu and Bokkos
  • Population: 3,206,531 (Male- 1,598,998 and Female- 1,607,533)
  • Vegetation: Northern guinea savannah, and Mosaic vegetation
  • Major crops: Maize, guinea corn, cassava, and yam.
  • Solid minerals: Tin, Columbite, Lead, Limestone, and Zinc.


Main Investment Opportunities

Opportunities for investment exist in:

  • Agribusiness
  • Light Manufacturing
  • Healthcare
  • Tourism
  • Energy
  • Mining