Oyo State popularly referred to, as the “Pace Setter” came into existence with the breakup of the old Western State of Nigeria during the State creation exercise in 3 February 1976. It is bounded in the North by Kwara State, in the East by Osun State, in the South by Ogun State and in the West by Ogun State and the Republic of Benin.

The first University in Nigeria is the University of Ibadan (established as a college of the University of London when it was founded in 1948, and later converted into an Autonomous University in 1962).

Oyo State Snapshot

  • Total land area: 26,500 Km2
  • Capital: Ibadan
  • Local Government Areas: 33 LGAs: Akinyele, Afijio, Egbeda, Ibadan North, Ibadan North-East, Ibadan North-West, Ibadan South-West, Ibadan South-East, Ibarapa Central, Ibarapa East, Ido, Irepo, Iseyin, Kajola, Lagelu, Ogbomosho North, Ogbomosho South, Oyo West, Atiba, Atigbo, Saki West, Saki East, Itesiwaju, Iwajowa, Ibarapa North, Olorunsogo, Oluyole, Ogo Oluwa, Surulere, Orelope, Ori Ire, Oyo East, Ona Ara.
  • Population: 8,392,588 (Male- 4,280,220 and Female- 4,112,368)
  • Vegetation: Tropical Savannah
  • Major crops: Maize, Yam, Cassava, Millet, Rice, Plantain, Cocoa, Oil Palm and Cashew
  • Solid minerals: Clay, Kaolin and Aquamarine

Main Investment Opportunities

Opportunities for investment exist in:

  • Agribusiness
  • Light Manufacturing
  • Healthcare
  • Tourism
  • Energy
  • Mining