Ondo State nicknamed “Sunshine State” was created on 3 February 1976 from the former Western State. It originally included what is now Ekiti State, which was split off in 1996. The economy of Ondo State is the sixth largest in Nigeria and is dominated by crude oil and crop production.

Ondo State produced more than 75,000 tons of quality cocoa annually, has the largest Bitumen deposit in Africa and the longest coast line in Nigeria of 180km.

Ondo State Snapshot

  • Total land area: 15,820 Km2
  • Local Government Areas: 18 LGAs: Akoko North-East, Akoko North-West, Akoko South-East, Akoko South-West, Akure North, Akure South, Ese Odo, Idanre, Ifedore, Ilaje, Okeigbo, Irele, Odigbo, Okitipupa, Ondo East, Ondo West, Ose and Owo.
  • Population: 4,960,577 (Male- 2,529,894 and Female- 2,430,683)
  • Vegetation: Tropical Savannah and Monsoon.
  • Major crops: Cocoyam, Rubber, Oil Palm, Cashew, Cocoa.
  • Mineral Resources: Bitumen, Timber, Crude oil, Limestone, Granite, Coal, Columbine.

Main Investment Opportunities

Opportunities for investment exist in:

  • Agribusiness
  • Light Manufacturing
  • Healthcare
  • Tourism
  • Energy
  • Mining
  • Logistics