Ogun State referred to as the “Gateway State” is located in the South-Western region of Nigeria was created on 3 February 1976. It borders Lagos State to the South, Oyo and Osun states to the North, Ondo to the East and the Republic of Benin to the West.

The state has the largest deposit of limestone in Nigeria. Its unique comparative advantage is its strategic closeness to Lagos State, thereby attracting large number of investments to the State.

Ogun State Snapshot

  • Total land area: 16,400 Km2
  • Local Government Areas: 20 LGAs: Abeokuta North, Abeokuta South, Ota, Ewekoro, Ifo, Ijebu East, Ijebu North, Ijebu North East, Ijebu Ode, Ikenne, Imeko Afon, Ipokia, Obafemi Owode, Odogbolu, Odeda, Ogun Waterside, Remo North, Sagamu, Yewa North and Yewa South.
  • Population: 5,573,704 (Male-2,842,589 and Female-2,731,115)
  • Vegetation: Tropical Savannah.
  • Major crops: Maize, Cocoa, Oil Palm, Rice, Cassava, Cotton.
  • Solid minerals: Limestone, Bauxite, Bitumen, Timber, Gem Stones.

Main Investment Opportunities

Opportunities for investment exist in:

  • Agribusiness
  • Light Manufacturing
  • Healthcare
  • Energy
  • Mining
  • Tourism