Niger State was created on 3 February 1976 from the defunct North – Western State during the regime of General Murtala Mohammed.


The State is bordered to the North by Zamfara State, West by Kebbi State, South by Kogi State, South-West by Kwara State, Northeast by Kaduna State and Southeast by FCT. The State also has an International Boundary with the Republic of Benin along Agwara and Borgu LGAs to the Northwest, thereby promoting trade relations.


The state has the largest landmass with about 70% arable and cultivable land.  It is nicknamed “Power State” as being home to three (3) hydroelectric dams that generate about 70% combined power out-put in the Nation’s Power Sector.

Niger State Snapshot

  • Total land area: 68,925 Km2
  • Capital: Minna
  • Local Government Areas: 25 LGAs: Agaie, Agwara, Bida, Borgu, Bosso, Chanchaga, Edati, Gbako, Gurara, Katcha, Kontagora, Lapai, Lavun, Magama, Mariga, Mashegu, Mokwa, Munya, Paikoro, Rafi, Rijau, Shiroro, Suleja, Tafa, Wushishi.
  • Population: 5,947,214 (Male- 3,033,079 and Female- 2,914,135)
  • Vegetation: Sudan savannah
  • Major crops: Yam, Cassava, Shea Butter, Sorghum, Maize, Millet, Rice, Groundnut And Cowpea
  • Solid minerals: Talc, Gold, Ball Clays, Silica, Sand, Marble, Copper, Iron, Feldspar, Lead, Kaolin, Casserole, Columbite, Mica, Quartzite and Limestone
  • There are three agricultural zones in Niger state.

Main Investment Opportunities

Opportunities for investment exist in:

  • Agribusiness
  • Light Manufacturing
  • Healthcare
  • Tourism
  • Energy
  • Mining
  • ICT