Nasarawa state was created in 1996 out of neighboring Plateau state. Located in the North-Central region of Nigeria, bordered to the West by the Federal Capital Territory, the North by Kaduna, the South by Benue and Kogi, and to the East by Plateau and Taraba states.

The State is nicknamed “Home of Solid Minerals” because of its huge deposits of mineral resources.

Nasarawa State Snapshot

  • Total land area: 28,735 Km2
  • Capital: Lafia
  • Local Government Areas: 13 LGAs: Akwanga, Awe, Doma, Karu, Keana, Keffi, Kokona, Lafia, Nasarawa, Nasarawa Eggon, Obi, Toto, Wamba
  • Population: 2,679,433 (Male- 1,366,511 and Female- 1,312,922)
  • Vegetation: Guinea Savannah
  • Major crops: Yam, Maize, Cassava, Groundnut, Garden Eggs, Rice, Sorghum, Sugarcane, Pepper, Cowpea, Benniseed, Mellon, Soya Beans, Cashew nuts, Sesame Seed, Shea Butter.
  • Solid minerals: Barite, Coal, Clay, Lead-Zinc, Sault, Gemstone, Silica Sand, Iron Ore, Granite, Tantalite, Marble, Mica, Cassiterite, Limestone, Aquamarine.
  • There are three agricultural zones in Nasarawa state: Southern: Obi, Awe and Doma, Western: Toto, Kokona, Karu, and Northern: Nasarawa Eggon, Akwanga and Wamba.

Main Investment Opportunities

Opportunities for investment exist in:

  • Agribusiness
  • Light Manufacturing
  • Healthcare
  • Tourism
  • Energy
  • Mining