Kwara State was created on 27 May 1967, when the Federal Military Government of General Yakubu Gowon broke the four regions that then constituted the Federation of Nigeria into 12 states. At its creation, the state was made up of the former Ilorin and Kabba provinces of the then Northern Region and was initially named the West Central State but later changed to “Kwara”, a local name for the River Niger.


The State nick named ‘’State of Harmony’’ shares boundaries with the Republic of Benin at the West and the Niger River at the North, Kogi to the East, and Ekiti and Osun to the South.

Farming is the major occupation of the people, as agriculture is the main source of the state’s economy.

Kwara State Snapshot

  • Total land area: 35,705Km2
  • Capital: Ilorin
  • Local Government Areas: 16 LGAs: Asa, Baruten, Edu, Ekiti, Ifelodun, Ilorin East, Ilorin South, Ilorin West, Irepodun, Isin, Kaiama, Moro, Offa, Oke Ero, Oyun, Pategi
  • Population: 3,390,330 (Male- 1,729,068 and Female- 1,661,262)
  • Vegetation: Tropical Savannah
  • Major crops: Rice, Cotton, Cocoa, Tomato, Sugarcane, Millet, Cassava, Soya Bean, Maize, Beniseed, Palm Produce and Ginger.
  • Solid minerals: Quartz, Limestone, Marble, Feldspar, Clay, Kaolin, Granite Rocks, Silica Sand and Dolomite.

Main Investment Opportunities

Opportunities for investment exist in:

  • Agribusiness
  • Manufacturing
  • Tourism
  • Mining