Kogi State was carved out of the old Kwara and Benue States on 27 August 1991 by the administration of former President Ibrahim Babangida. The area which today forms Kogi State was a colonial formation then known as Kabba Province.  Kogi State is made up of the Igala, Kabba, Ebira and Kogi Division of the former Kabba Province. It is the most centrally located State in the country and shares boundaries with the Plateau, Niger and the Federal Capital Territory (FCT), to the North, Benue and the Anambra States to the East and on the West; it is bordered by Ondo, Kwara, Edo and Enugu States.

The State nick named “Confluence State’’ because of the confluence of River Niger and River Benue at its capital, Lokoja.

Kogi State Snapshot

  • Total land area: 27,747 Km2
  • Capital: Lokoja
  • Local Government Areas: 21 LGAs: Adavi, Ajaokuta, Ankpa, Bassa, Dekina, Ibaji, Idah, Igalamela-Odolu, Ijumu, Kabba/Bunu, Koton Karfe, Lokoja, Mopa-Muro, Ofu, Ogori/Magongo, Okehi, Okene, Olamaboro, Omala, Yagba East, Yagba West.
  • Population: 4,750,115 (Male- 2,422,559 and Female-2,327,557)
  • Vegetation: Tropical Savannah
  • Major crops: Cassava, Rice, Cashew, Coffee, Cocoa, Palm Oil, Groundnuts, Maize, Yam and Melon.
  • Solid minerals: Limestone, Iron Ore, Marble and Gemstone.

There are four agricultural zones in Kogi state namely Aiyetoro-Gbede, Anyigba, Koton-karfe and Alloma.

Main Investment Opportunities

Opportunities for investment exist in:

  • Agribusiness
  • Manufacturing
  • Healthcare
  • Tourism
  • Mining