Kaduna State is one of the major states in Nigeria. One etymological account states that Kaduna derived its name from the Gbagyi ethnic group, which has lived there for centuries.

In 1967, Kaduna became the capital of the North Central State, which was created from the Northern region. By 1976, General Murtala Mohammed gave the state its name. In 1987, the military administration of General Ibrahim Babangida created the state of Katsina from Kaduna. Interestingly, the Nok tribe, one of Africa’s earliest civilizations is located within the area that makes up Kaduna.

The state’s nickname is “The Centre of Learning” because it is home to a number of prestigious institutions. The Nigerian Defense Academy (NDA), Ahmadu Bello University (ABU), Nigerian College of Aviation, Zaria, Barewa College and Nuhu Bamalli Polytechnic, among many others.

Kaduna State Snapshot

  • Total land area: 42,481 Km2
  • Local Government Areas: 23 LGAs: Birni – Gwari, Chikun, Giwa, Igabi, Ikara, Jaba, Jema’a, Kachia, Kaduna North, Kaduna South, Kagarko, Kajuru, Kaura, Kauru, Kubau, Kudan, Lere, Makarfi, Sabon – Gari, Sanga, Soba, Zangon – Kataf, Zaria.
  • Population: 8,762,664 (Male- 4,468,958 and Female- 4,293,705)
  • Vegetation: Savannah woodlands
  • Major crops: Maize, Millet, Rice, Ginger and Sorghum.
  • Solid minerals: Iron-Ore, Gold, Gemstones, Granite, and Marbles

Main Investment Opportunities

Opportunities for investment exist in:

  • Agriculture
  • Agro-Allied
  • Infrastructure
  • Manufacturing
  • Tourism
  • Mining
  • Renewable Energy
  • Housing
  • Transportation
  • ICT