Abuja is the Federal Capital Territory of Nigeria.  It was created in 1976 by late General Murtala Mohammed.  It is strategically located in the center of the country and officially became Nigeria’s capital on 12 December 1991, replacing the role of the previous capital, Lagos.

Abuja’s equidistance to all corners of the country and access to key international locations through its modern and busy international airport makes it the natural gateway to explore Nigeria.

Abuja has an unprecedented growth rate of 13% and divided into six (6) Area Councils.  The strength of Abuja’s economy is attributed to its diverse economic activities ranging from construction and real estate, tourism and leisure, agriculture and a dynamic service sector that includes infrastructure development.

State Snapshot

  • Total land area: 7,607 Km2
  • Capital: Abuja
  • Major Cities: Asokoro, Garki, Maitama, Wuse, Kado, Durumi, Jabi, Mabushi, Gudu, Katampe, Gwarinpa, Lugbe.
  • Area Councils: 6 ACs – AMAC, Bwari, Kuje, Gwagwalada, Kwali and Abaji
  • Population: 4,292,712 (Male- 2,189,283 and Female- 2,103,429)
  • Vegetation: Tropical Savannah
  • Major crops: Yams, Millet, Sorghum, Maize, Beans.
  • Solid minerals: Feldspar, Clay, Lead, Tin, Marble, Gold, Iron Ore and Talc.

Main Investment Opportunities:

Opportunities for investment exist in:

  • Infrastructure development
  • Tourism/hospitality
  • Manufacturing
  • Power
  • Agriculture
  • Mining