Ebonyi State is in the South of the Eastern region of Nigeria. It is inhabited and populated primarily by Igbo. Its capital and largest city is Abakaliki. It is one of the six states created on 1 October 1996 by Late General Sani Abacha’s government. Ebonyi was created from parts of both Enugu State and Abia State.

The State is nicknamed the “Salt of the Nation” due to its huge salt deposit.

Ebonyi State Snapshot

  • Total land area: 6,400 Km2
  • Local Government Areas: 13 LGAs: Abakaliki, Izzi, Ezza North, Afikpo South, Ohaukwu, Ebonyi, Oniocha, Ishielu, Ezza South, Ikwo, Afikpo North, Ohaozara, Ivo.
  • Population: 3,046,287 (Male- 1,553,606 and Female- 1,492,681)
  • Vegetation: Tropical Savannah
  • Major crops: Rice, Yam, Potatoes, Maize, Beans and Cassava.
  • Solid minerals: Lead, Crude Oil, Salt and Natural Gas.

Main Investment Opportunities

Opportunities for investment exist in:

  • Agribusiness
  • Light Manufacturing
  • Healthcare
  • Energy
  • Mining