Cross River State was created on 27 May 1967 from the former Eastern Region of  Nigeria by the General Yakubu Gowon regime. Its name was changed to Cross River State in the 1976 state creation exercise by the then General Murtala Mohammed regime from South Eastern State. The present day Akwa Ibom State was excised from it in the state creation exercise of September 1987 by the then regime of General Ibrahim Babangida.

The State nicknamed the “Nations Paradise” houses 58% forestry of the country.

Cross River State Snapshot

  • Total land area: 21,787 Km2
  • Capital: Calabar
  • Local Government Areas: 18 LGAs: Abi, Akamkpa, Akpabuyo, Bakassi, Bekwarra, Biase, Boki, Calabar Municipal, Calabar South, Etung, Ikom, Obanliku, Obubra, Obudu, Odukpani, Ogoja, Yakur, Yala.
  • Population: 4,097,143 (Male- 2,089,543 and Female- 2,007,600)
  • Vegetation: Tropical Savannah and Mansoon.
  • Major crops: Cocoa, Rice, Cassava, Oil Palm, Rubber, Banana, Pineapple.
  • Solid minerals: Limestone, Clay, Salt, Tin, Granite, Basalt, Quartzite, Kaolin, Sand and Feldspar.

There are three agricultural zones in Cross River state: Ogoja, Ikom and Calabar.

Main Investment Opportunities

Opportunities for investment exist in:

  • Agribusiness
  • Light Manufacturing
  • Healthcare
  • Real Estate
  • Tourism
  • Energy
  • Mining