Niger State was created on 3rd February 1976 from the defunct North-Western State during the regime of General Murtala Ramat Mohammed. Zamfara State, West by Kebbi State, South by Kogi State, South West by Kwara State, Northeast by Kaduna State and South East by FCT border the State to the North. The State also has an International Boundary with the Republic of Benin along Agwara and Borgu LGAs to the North West.



Niger State Snapshot

  • Total land area: 68,925 Sq. Km
  • Capital: Minna
  • Local Government Areas: 25 LGAs: Agaie, Agwara, Bida, Borgu, Bosso, Chanchaga, Edati, Gbako, Gurara, Katcha, Kontagora, Lapai, Lavun, Magama, Mariga, Mashegu, Mokwa, Munya, Paikoro, Rafi, Rijau, Shiroro, Suleja, Tafa, Wushishi.
  • Population: 3,954,772 (Male- 2,004,350 and Female- 1,950,422)
  • Vegetation: Sudan savannah
  • Major crops: Yam, cassava sorghum, maize, millet, rice, groundnut and cowpea
  • Solid minerals: Talc, Gold, Ball clays, Silica, Sand, Marble, Copper, Iron, Feldspar, Lead, Kaolin, Casserole, Columbite, Mica, Quartzite, and Limestone

There are three agricultural zones in Niger state.


Main Investment Opportunities

Opportunities for investment exist in:

  • Agribusiness
  • Light Manufacturing
  • Healthcare
  • Tourism
  • Energy
  • Mining