Enugu state, South-East of Nigeria, is one of the thirty-six States constituting the Nigerian Federation. It came into being on August 27, 1991 when the administration of President Ibrahim Babangida finally acquiesced to the long agitations of Waawa people for a State they could truly call their own. Enugu State derives its name from the capital city, Enugu (top of the hill), which is regarded as the oldest urban area in the Igbo speaking area of Southeast Nigeria. The city owes its geopolitical significance to the discovery of coal in 1909 by a team of British geologists. The state shares borders with Abia State and Imo State to the south, Ebonyi State to the east, Benue State to the Northeast, Kogi State to the northwest and Anambra State to the west.



Enugu State Snapshot

  • Total land area: 7,534 Sq. Km
  • Local Government Areas: 17 LGAs: Aninri, Awgu, Enugu East, Enugu North, Enugu South, Ezeagu, Igbo-Etiti, Igboeze North, Igboeze South, Isi-Uzo, Nkanu East, Nkanu West, Nsukka, Oji River, Udenu, Udi, Uzo-Uwani.
  • Population: 3,267,837 (Male- 1,596,042 and Female- 1,671,795)
  • Vegetation: The Woodland and Tall Grass Savannah and the Rain Forest.
  • Major crops: Yams, Oil Palm, Taro, Maize, Rice, and Cassava.
  • Solid minerals: Iron-Ore, Coal, Lead-Zinc Ore


Main Investment Opportunities

Opportunities for investment exist in:

  • Agribusiness
  • Light Manufacturing
  • Healthcare
  • Tourism
  • Energy
  • Mining