Cross River State was created on May 27, 1967 from the former Eastern Region, Nigeria by the General Yakubu Gowon regime. Its name was changed to Cross River State in the 1976 state creation exercise by the then General Murtala Mohammed regime from South Eastern State. The present day Akwa Ibom State was excised from it in the state creation exercise of September 1987 by the then regime of General Ibrahim Babangida.





Cross River State Snapshot

  • Total land area: 21,787 Sq. Km
  • Capital: Calabar
  • Local Government Areas: 18 LGAs: Abi, Akamkpa, Akpabuyo, Bakassi, Bekwarra, Biase, Boki, Calabar Municipal, Calabar South, Etung, Ikom, Obanliku, Obubra, Obudu, Odukpani, Ogoja, Yakuur, Yala.
  • Population: 2,892,988 (Male- 1,471,967 and Female- 1,421,021)
  • Vegetation: Mangrove swamps, rainforest, derived savannah, and montane parkland.
  • Major crops: Cocoa, rice, cassava, oil palm, rubber, banana, pineapple
  • Solid minerals: Limestone, clay, salt, tin, granite, basalt, quartzite, kaolin, sand and feldspar.

There are three agricultural zones in Cross River state: Ogoja, Ikom, and Calabar.


Main Investment Opportunities

Opportunities for investment exist in:

  • Agribusiness
  • Light Manufacturing
  • Healthcare
  • Real Estate
  • Tourism
  • Energy
  • Mining