Benue state was created on February 3, 1976. It was one of the seven new states created by the military administration headed by late General Murtala Muhammed, which increased the number of states in the federation from twelve to nineteen. The state derives its name from the River Benue, which is the second largest river in the country.



Benue State Snapshot

  • Total land area: 30,800 Sq. Km
  • Capital: Makurdi
  • Local Government Areas: 23 LGAs: Ado, Agatu, Apa, Buruku, Gboko, Guma, Gwer, Gwer-West, Katsina-Ala, Konshisha, Kwande, Logo, Makurdi, Obi, Ogbadibo, Ohimini, Oju, Okpokwu, Otukpo, Tarka, Ukum, Ushongo, Vandeikya.
  • Population: 4,253,641 (Male- 2,144,043 and Female- 2,109,598)
  • Vegetation: Rain forest and Guinea savannah
  • Major crops: Yams, rice, beans, cassava, potatoes, maize, soya beans, sorghum, millet and cocoyam.
  • Solid minerals: Kaolin, Limestone

There are three agricultural zones in Benue state: Northern Zone: comprising of Burukum, Makurdi, Gwer-West, Gboko, Guma, Gwer East and Tarka Local Government Areas. Central Zones: Comprise of Ado, Obi, Agatu, Apa, Ogbadibo, Ohimini, Okpokwu, Oju and Otukpo Local Government Areas.


Main Investment Opportunities

Opportunities for investment exist in:

  • Agribusiness
  • Light Manufacturing
  • Healthcare
  • Tourism
  • Energy
  • Mining