Bauchi, usually referred to as Bauchi State to distinguish it from the city of Bauchi, is a state in Northern Nigeria.

Its capital is the city of Bauchi. The state was formed in 1976 when the former North-Eastern State was broken up. In 1996, the present day Gombe state was carved out of Bauchi state.


Buachi State Snapshot

  • Total land area: 49,119 Sq. Km
  • Capital: Bauchi
  • Local Government Areas: 20 LGAs: Bauchi, Tafawa Balewa, Bogoro, Dass, Toro, Ningi, Warji, Ganjuwa, Kirfi, Alkaleri, Darazo, Misau, Giade, Shira, Jama’are, Katagum, Itas/Gadau, Zaki, Gamawa and Dambam.
  • Population: 4,653,066 (Male- 2,369,266 and Female- 2,283,800)
  • Vegetation: Sudan and Sahel Savannah
  • Major crops: Millet, Sorghum, Maize, Rice, Cotton, and Groundnut
  • Solid minerals: Baryte, Gold, Cassiterite (tin ore), Columbite, Wolfram, Coal, Limestone, Lignite and Iron ore.

There are three agricultural zones in Bauchi state: Western, Northern, and Central. Bauchi, Toro and Dass in the Western zone, Gamawa, Dambam, Misau, Shira and Katagum in the Northern zone, Warji, Ganjuwa, Darazo and Ningi in the Central zone.


Main Investment Opportunities

Opportunities for investment exist in:

  • Agribusiness
  • Light Manufacturing
  • Healthcare
  • Tourism
  • Energy
  • Mining


For more information please visit: