“Abia” is an acronym formed from the initial letters of four groups of people, namely: Aba, Bende, Isuikwuato and Afikpo. These constituted the major groups in the state at its creation. At the country’s independence in 1960, Abia was part of the then Eastern Region. From 27th May 1967, it became a part of the East Central State, created by the then Head of State of the Federal Military Government, General Yakubu Gowon. On 3rd February 1967, the Federal Military Government headed by General Murtala Mohammed split East Central State into two states -Anambra and Imo.

On 27th August 1991, the Federal Military Government under General Ibrahim Babangida carved out Abia State from Imo State



Abia State Snapshot

  • Total land area: 4,900 Sq. Km
  • Capital: Umuahia
  • Local Government Areas: Seventeen LGAs: Aba North, Aba South, Isiala Ngwa North, Isiala Ngwa South, UkwaWest, Ukwa East, Obingwa, Ikwuano, Bende, Arochukwu, Ohafia, Isuikwuato, Umuahia North, Umuahia South, Ugwunagbo, Osisioma and Nnochi.
  • Population: 2,845,380 (Male- 1,430,298 and Female- 1,415,082)
  • Vegetation: Tropical rainforest and savannah
  • Major crops: Cocoa, Rice, Plantain, Maize, Cocoyam
  • Solid minerals: Kaolin, Limestone, and Gypsum

There are three agricultural zones in Abia state: Aba, Umahia, and Bende.


Main Investment Opportunities

Opportunities for investment exist in:

  • Agribusiness
  • Auto components
  • Light Manufacturing
  • Healthcare
  • Tourism
  • Energy
  • Mining


For more information please visit: http://www.investinabia.info/